The recommendations were reviewed and approved by chief executives, and ultimately accepted by Governor Bush on October 1. The first priority recommendation was to create and establish seven Regional Domestic Security Task Forces.

Regional Domestic Security Task Forces

  • Each Task Force has a standard organizational template organized under the Incident Command System Model and be co-chaired by a FDLE Regional Director and local Sheriff.
  • In addition, each Task Force consists of four primary areas including Law Enforcement, Fire Rescue, Health and Medical and Emergency Management/Regulatory. Each of these components play a vital role in efforts to prevent a terrorist attack and, if necessary, respond immediately to and coordinate efforts at a disaster site.
  • On October 9, 2001, FDLE Commissioner Moore announced the appointment of the Sheriffs to chair the Regional Domestic Security Task Forces. Police Chiefs, Fire Chiefs, emergency management directors, health and medical officials, federal, state, and local government officials, and private industry executives are on each regional Task Force and play an important part of this effort.
  • The Task Forces are responsible to a statewide, multi-agency oversight board. This oversight board ensures consistency and communication among all the Task Forces.
  • These Task Forces would play a key role in implementing a number of additional recommendations resulting from the assessment and ultimately represent Florida’s best opportunity for preventing a terrorist attack.