About the Unit
The Records Unit is responsible for the collection and distribution of police reports, accident reports and other documents generated by the Miramar Police Department. Copies of reports are provided to police officers, state attorneys, crime victims, the general public, and the courts. The Records Unit is also responsible for providing crime information to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement for inclusion in the FBI’s annual report of “Crime in the United States” and the collection of all monies paid for public records requests, fingerprints, background checks, citation corrections, police and accident reports and photographs.
The Miramar Police Department’s Records Unit is open to the public Monday through Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
***Please note: The Records Unit will be closed on April 28, 2021 from 8:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.***
How do you obtain a report?
You may visit the Miramar Police Department’s Records Unit, during business hours, at 11765 City Hall Promenade. In most cases, requests can be handled by emailing the Records Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org. Response time is usually one business day. Traffic crash reports can also be obtained online. Please see the traffic crash report link below. For questions and other information relating to records, please call 954-602-4300.
What type of reports can you get?
We collect and distribute all police reports, accident reports and other documents generated by the Miramar Police Department.
Incident Reports involving a juvenile will be released according to State Statute, and proper identification and/or involvement may be required. Please contact the Records Unit at (954) 602-4300 for requirements regarding the release of any juvenile information.
Accident Reports are confidential and not considered public record until 60 days after the date of the accident. Prior to the conclusion of the 60-day waiting period, accident reports will be released only to the following:
- A party involved in the crash (photo identification required)
- The legal representative of a party involved in the crash (Florida Bar number required)
- The licensed insurance agent of a party involved in the crash, or a party who has applied for insurance coverage (Florida license number required)
- A person under contract to provide claims or underwriting information to a qualifying insurance company (name of insurance company required)
- A prosecuting authority (Florida Bar number required)
- A representative of a radio or television station licensed by the FCC, a newspaper qualified to publish legal notices, or a free newspaper of general circulation which qualifies under Statute 316.066(3)(C) (name of radio station, television station or newspaper required, along with proof of free distribution, if applicable)
- A state or federal agency representative who is authorized by law to have access to these reports
All required credentials or identification must be reviewed by a Records Specialist prior to the report’s release.
How much does a report cost?
Copies cost 15¢ per page
Do you accept credit cards?
We do not accept credit or debit cards; personal checks are not accepted. Exact change is appreciated.
How can I obtain body-worn camera video?
The Digital Evidence Unit can provide information and process requests regarding body-worn camera video. They can be reached by email at email@example.com or by calling 954-602-4355.
What other types of services does the Records Unit provide?
Background checks for Miramar residents (at least six months of residency) are provided for a minimal cost of $10.00
Please click HERE for the Inventory Loss Form
For further information, please call (954) 602-4300
Traffic Crash Reports
Access and print your reports.