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The intent of the application for change of contractor is replaced the previous contractor on record 
and transfer the responsibility of the work to a new contractor, under Florida Building Code 105.6.4 

Who Can Apply (A or B) 

A. Licensed Contractors for Residential & Commercial: Permit can be issued to Licensed Contractors properly 

registered in the Community Development - Building Division. Contractors shall provide all required applications 
properly signed and notarized. Also, Contract signed by both parties (Contractor & Homeowner) shall be provided 
indicating contract value per every applicable discipline. 
 

B. Owner/Builder for Residential Only. READ CAREFULLY.  Permit can be issued to owner/builder if  his/her address 
on picture ID (Driver License, I.D. Card) matches the location/address for which he/she intends to apply for permit, 
also proof of ownership (Warranty Died, Broward Tax Statement)  shall match the name and address on the picture ID.  

EXCEPTION: 
• •  For Air Conditioning (HVAC), a Mechanical Licensed Contractor must apply for permit. 

•  If a contractor is hired, then the contractor must pull the permit. 

Required Documents 

 All required applications based on the scope of work (Structural, Plumbing, Electrical, Mechanical-A/C, 
Roofing, etc.). For owner-builder, read carefully the note B shown above. Based on the scope of work, you may 
need to make additional copies of the Broward Standard Application Form. 

 Hold Harmless Letter. 

 Letter of Responsibility. 

 Job contract: Completed & signed by both parties (Contractor & Homeowner). 

 Affidavit of Awareness of Homeowner’s Association (Included in this package). 

 Owner –Builder Disclosure Statement, proof of ownership and picture ID matching job address (For 
   Homeowner applicants only). 

 For Signed & Sealed plans previously used for the original contractor, an authorization letter from the Designer of 
Record (Architect/Professional Engineer) must be submitted along with other required documents. Because of the 
Copyright Laws, this letter shall state the permission to new contractor to work using the designed plans by the 
Professional of Record. 

 Proof to the Building Official that the contractor on record for the subject permit has been notified about the intent 
of change of contractor. This notification can be one the following: 

- Certified Mail Letter and corresponding receipt mailed to previous contractor on record. 

- Notarized letter from previous contractor on record attesting he/she is aware of the change of contractor. 

 
Attention Applicant: As per Florida Statutes 713.13, a   Recorded Notice of Commencement is required when construction, 

renovation, alterations values exceed $2,500. This subsection does not apply to a direct contract to repair or replace an existing 
heating or air-conditioning system in an amount less than $7,500. Construction cost (Including labor & material) will be based on 
contract signed by both parties (owner & contractor) and/or as determined by the Building Official (FBC 109.3). Notice of 
commencement can be recorded at the office of Broward  County  Government  Center  /  Records  Division  115  S.  Andrews Ave.    
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301. 

 

Change of 
Contractor  
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FBC 105.6.4 Upon  request  of  the  owner  and/or  permit  holder  and on  investigation  by the  Building Official to 

determine that the work has been abandoned or that the contractor is unable or unwilling to complete the contract a 

second permit  may be  issued where  there is a change  of  contractor  without the  initial permit  being revoked or 

suspended. 

FBC 105.6.4.1 The foregoing will be permitted only when the following stated persons have filed with the Building Official a 

letter stating the reason for a second permit being required and holding the Building Official harmless from legal 

involvement. All interested parties shall be notified before action is taken. 
 

To: Community & Economic Development Dept. │  Building Division │  City of Miramar 

Attn. Building Official 

Date:    
 
I no longer authorize the previous permit holder ____________________________________________________ 
to proceed with the work covered under the Permit No.______________________________________________  
I hereby authorize the following contractor to complete the work under this permit. 

Contractor Company:  _________________________________________________________________________ 

Qualifier Name: _________________________________________________ License No.: __________________ 

Property Address: ________________________________________________Miramar, FL. Zip________________ 

Folio #: _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

This request for change contractor is for the following reason:                                                                                                                                     
                                                                                                                                                                                                
_                                                                                                                                                                                               

I agree to hold the Building Official and the City of Miramar harmless and relieve them from any responsibility 
and/or liability for any legal action or damage resulting from the change of contractor and the cancellation of 
the existing permit. 
 
 

Printed Name (Owner) Signature (Owner) 
 

 

Company Name/Prime Contractor Signature (Qualifier/Prime Contractor) 

State of Florida, Sworn and subscribe before me this  day of  20 __ . 
ID produced     __________________________________                       Personally Know   
 
 

Notary Public - State of Florida 

This Hold Harmless Letter is required when the owner request to change the previous contractor on record and transfer 
the responsibility of the work on his/her property to another contractor. Based on the Florida Building Code, see below 
the regulations: 

1. Where a prime contractor is the permit holder the owner shall file such hold-harmless letter. 

2. Where a sub-contractor or specialty contractor is the permit holder the owner and prime contractor shall both 

file such hold-harmless letters. 
 

 

 

 

Hold Harmless 
Letter 
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Attn.: Building Official. Building Division. City of Miramar 

Subject: Letter of Responsibility for work completed by previous contractors. 

 

Permit #     

 

Project Name :     

(Project Name) 

 

This serves to inform you that 
 
 

 Homeowner/Builder   Company Name 

has taken 

 

over the project located at 
 
 
(Address) 

, and accepting full 

responsibility for all  the work  completed by previous  contractors.  We agree  to hold  the Building the Official  and 

the  City of Miramar  harmless  and  relieve  them  from  any responsibility or  liability for any legal action or damage 

resulting  from  the errors,  omissions, any cost  (Including  legal  fees), or construction  irregularities resulting from 

work performed by previous contractors. 

 
I  have  submitted  all  licensing  information,  application  form(s),  and  all  other  forms  necessary  to  complete  the 
change of contractor process. 

 
Should you need any further information, please contact                                                                                                        

(Name) 
 

at   .      

(Phone)  (E‐mail) 
 
 
Sincerely, 

 
 
 

Print Name (qualifier)  Signature 
 

 
 

 
On this      day of      20      the person whose name  is subscribed to 
within this instrument, personally appeared before / personally known to me, the undersigned Notary Public of 
the State of Florida, and he / she acknowledges that  he / she executed it. Sworn and subscribe before me. 

 
 
 
 
NOTARY PUBLIC STATE OF FLORIDA 

 

 

 

 

Contractor 

Letter of 
Responsibility 



APPENDIX A 
  

Broward County Board of Rules and Appeals 
~Effective June 30, 2015 

5th Edition (2014) FBC — Building 
Broward County Administrative Provisions 

BROWARD COUNTY UNIFORM BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION 

Select Trade: Building Electrical Plumbing Mechanical Other   __ 

Application Number:   Application Date:  
Job Address:  Unit:        City:  
Tax Folio No.: Flood Zone:  BFE:    Floor Area: Job Value: 
Building Use: Construction Type: Occupancy Group: 

1  Present Use: Proposed Used: 
Description of Work: 
New   Addition  Repair   Alteration   Demolition   Revision   Other: 

Legal Description: Attachment 
 

Property Owner: Phone: Email: 
2  Owner’s Address: City: State: Zip: 

 

Contracting Co.: Phone: Email: 
3  Company Address:  City:  State: Zip: 

Qualifier’s Name: Owner-Builder:  License Number: 
Architect/Engineer’s Name: Phone: Email: 

 
Architect/Engineer’s Address: City: State: Zip: 
Bonding Company: 

4  Bonding Company Address: City: State: Zip: 
Fee Simple Titleholder’s name (if other than owner): 
Fee Simple Titleholder’s Address (If other than owner): City: State: Zip: 

 
Mortgage Lender’s Name: 
Mortgage Lender’s Address: City: State: Zip: 

 
Application is hereby made to obtain a permit to do the work and installations as indicated. I certify that no work or installation has commenced prior to the 
issuance of a permit and that all work will be performed to meet the standards of all laws regulating construction in this jurisdiction. I understand that a 
separate permit must be secured for ELECTRICAL WORK, PLUMBING, SIGNS, WELLS, POOLS, FURNACES, BOILERS, HEATERS, TANKS, and AIR 
CONDITIONERS, etc. 
OWNER’S AFFIDAVIT: I certify that all the foregoing information is accurate and that all work will be done in compliance with all applicable laws regulating 
construction and zoning. 

WARNING TO OWNER: YOUR FAILURE TO RECORD A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MAY 
RESULT IN YOUR PAYING TWICE FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO YOUR PROPERTY. A NOTICE OF 
COMMENCEMENT MUST BE RECORDED AND POSTED ON THE JOB SITE BEFORE THE FIRST 
INSPECTION.  IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN FINANCING, CONSULT WITH YOUR LENDER OR 
AN ATTORNEY BEFORE COMMENCING WORK OR RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF 
COMMENCEMENT. 

 
X   

Signature of Property Owner or Agent 
STATE OF FLORIDA 
COUNTY OF    

 
X   

Signature of Qualifier 
STATE OF FLORIDA 
COUNTY OF    

 
Sworn    to    (or    affirmed)    and    subscribed    before    me    this   
  , 20_  by 

 
day   of 

 
Sworn    to    (or    affirmed)    and    subscribed    before    me    this   
  , 20_  by 

 
day   of 

 
(Type / Print Property Owner or Agent Name) (Type / Print Qualifier’s Name) 

 
NOTARY’S SIGNATURE as to Owner or Agent’s Signature 

Notary Name    
(Print, Type or Stamp Notary’s Name) 

Personally Known   or Produced Identification    

Type of Identification Produced    

NOTARY’S SIGNATURE as to Qualifier’s Signature 

Notary Name    
(Print, Type or Stamp Notary’s Name) 

Personally Known   or Produced Identification    

Type of Identification Produced    
 

 
APPROVED BY:    Permit Officer Issue Date:    

 

Code in Effect:    

A jurisdiction may use a supplemental page requesting additional information and citing other conditions, please inquire. 
Note: If any development work as described in FS 380.04 Sec. 2 a-g is to be performed, a development permit must be obtained prior to the issuance of a 
building permit. 

 



City of 
 

Miramar | Building Division 
Community & Economic Development Department 
2200 Civic Center Place | Miramar, Florida 33025 
Tel: 954.602.3200 | Fax: 954.602.3635 
www.miramarfl.gov 

Affidavit of Awareness 

of Homeowner’s 
Association Regulations 

 

The following “Affidavit” is required as per City’s ordinance. This is a mandatory affidavit which is required 
even if your property is not located in a Homeowner’s Association. 

 

ATTENTION APPLICANT. READ CAREFULLY 
 

• For homeowner/Builder applicants, this affidavit can be notarized by Permit Clerk at the Building 
Division. Homeowner should appear in person with required picture I.D. (i.e. Driver License) 
and proof of ownership (i.e. Recorded Warranty, County Tax Statement). The physical address on 
I.D. shall match the address on the proof of ownership (i.e. Recorded Warranty Deed). 

 

•      For Licensed Contractor applicants, this affidavit can be notarized outside the Building Division by any 
Notary Public. 

 
Homeowner or Condominium Association Affidavit requirement.  Miramar - City Code Sec. 22-29.(c)(1) As 
part of the application process for a building permit in accordance with this chapter and with Section 713.20 
of  the  Land  Development  Code,  each  applicant  shall  sign  an  affidavit  (the  "affidavit  of  awareness") 
indicating that   the  applicant  is  aware  that,  if  the  subject  property  is  located  in  a  Homeowners' 
Association   or Condominium  Association,  as  defined  in  this  section,  the  applicant's  property  may  be 
subject to additional regulations despite the issuance of a building permit by the city. 

This serves to notify such homeowner that the issuance of a Building, Landscaping, or other permits by the 
City of Miramar, Florida does not exempt he/she from any and all other regulations imposed by the 
Homeowner’s Association (HOA) in which his/her property is located. Be aware that despite the issuance 
of a building permit by  the city, the applicant’s property may result in additional regulations or denial 
to perform the work in your property located at  HOA community. 

 

Read and Initial to the left of the applicable statement 
 

  I acknowledge that I am the owner of property located in the following Homeowner’s Association: 
 

 
Print Name of Homeowner’s Association 

 
 

  I acknowledge that my property is not located in a Homeowners’ Association. 
 
 

Name:    
Homeowner - Print Name 

 

Job Address:    
 

Miramar, Florida   Zip Code :    
 
 

Signature:   
Homeowner - Signature 

 

STATE OF FLORIDA.  Sworn to and subscribed before me this   day of   , 20   
 

 
 
 
 

Notary Public 

 
REV 1/2019 

http://www.miramarfl.gov/
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Owner Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________   
 
Address:                                                                                              Miramar, FL, Zip Code: ______________________                    
 
LOT:   BLOCK:    SUBDIVISION:   ___________________________________________ 

 
I am submitting an application for a Building Permit as an Owner-Builder in accordance with the exemption set forth in 
Florida Statute 489.103. Florida law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor. It’s a requirement by law 
you read and sign the following statements, and hence you can understand your responsibilities as an owner-builder. By 
signing the following statements, you attest that:  

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT  
(Read and Initial to the left of each statement) 

 1. I understand that state law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor and have applied for an 
owner-builder permit under an exemption from the law. The exemption specifies that I, as the owner of the 
property listed, may act as my own contractor with certain restrictions even though I do not have a license. 

 2. I understand that building permits are not required to be signed by a property owner unless he or she is 
responsible for the construction and is not hiring a licensed contractor to assume responsibility. 

 3. I understand that, as an owner-builder, I am the responsible party of record on a permit. I understand that I may 
protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor and having the permit filed in his or her 
name instead of my own name. I also understand that a contractor is required by law to be licensed in Florida and to 
list his or her license numbers on permits and contracts. 

 4. I understand that I may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding. I may also 
build or improve a commercial building if the costs do not exceed $75,000. The building or residence must be for my 
own use or occupancy. It may not be built or substantially improved for sale or lease. If a building or residence that I 
have built or substantially improved myself is sold or leased within 1 year after the construction is complete, the law 
will presume that I built or substantially improved it for sale or lease, which violates the exemption. 

 5. I understand that, as the owner-builder, I must provide direct, onsite supervision of the construction. 

 6. I understand that I may not hire an unlicensed person to act as my contractor or to supervise persons working 
on my building or residence. It is my responsibility to ensure that the persons whom I employ have the licenses 
required by law and by county or municipal ordinance. 

 7. I understand that it is a frequent practice of unlicensed persons to have the property owner obtain an owner-
builder permit that erroneously implies that the property owner is providing his or her own labor and materials. I, as 
an owner-builder, may be held liable and subjected to serious financial risk for any injuries sustained by an 
unlicensed person or his or her employees while working on my property. My homeowner’s insurance may not 
provide coverage for those injuries. I am willfully acting as an owner-builder and am aware of the limits of my 
insurance coverage for injuries to workers on my property. 

 8. I understand that I may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed contractor who is not 
licensed to perform the work being done. Any person working on my building who is not licensed must work under 
my direct supervision and must be employed by me, which means that I must comply with laws requiring the 
withholding of federal income tax and social security contributions under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act 
(FICA) and must provide workers’ compensation for the employee. I understand that my failure to follow these laws 
may subject me to serious financial risk. 

 9. I agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, I will abide by 
all applicable laws and requirements that govern owner-builders as well as employers. I also understand that the 
construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations. 

Owner/Builder 
Disclosure 
Statement 
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 10. I understand that I may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an employer from the Internal 
Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the Florida Department of Financial Services, and 
the Florida Department of Revenue. I also understand that I may contact the Florida Construction Industry Licensing 
Board at   (telephone number)   or   (Internet website address)   for more information about licensed contractors. 

 11. I am aware of, and consent to, an owner-builder building permit applied for in my name and understand that I 
am the party legally and financially responsible for the proposed construction activity at the address listed above. 

 12. I agree to notify   (issuer of disclosure statements)   immediately of any additions, deletions, or changes to any 
of the information that I have provided on this disclosure. 

Licensed contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public. If you contract with a person who does not 
have a license, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and Department of Business and Professional Regulation may 
be unable to assist you with any financial loss that you sustain as a result of a complaint. Your only remedy against an 
unlicensed contractor may be in civil court. It is also important for you to understand that, if an unlicensed contractor or 
employee of an individual or firm is injured while working on your property, you may be held liable for damages. If you 
obtain an owner-builder permit and wish to hire a licensed contractor, you will be responsible for verifying whether the 
contractor is properly licensed and the status of the contractor’s workers’ compensation coverage. 

Before a building permit can be issued, this disclosure statement must be completed and signed by the property owner 
and returned to the local permitting agency responsible for issuing the permit. A copy of the property owner’s driver 
license, the notarized signature of the property owner, or other type of verification acceptable to the local permitting 
agency is required when the permit is issued. 

 

I have read the foregoing instructions and I am aware of my responsibilities. 
 
 
 
 
___________________________________________                                            _____________________________ 
                           Owner Signature                                                                                                 Date Signed 

 
 

  

STATE OF FLORIDA, COUNTY OF BROWARD. Sworn to and subscribed before me this   _day of   _, 20  . 
 
 
 

Notary Public 
 
   
 
       
 F.S 489.103. 3(c). If any person violates the requirements of this subsection, the local permitting agency shall 
withhold final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue any action or remedy for unlicensed activity against the 
owner and any person performing work that requires licensure under the permit issued.  

Owner/Builder 
Disclosure 
Statement 

(Continuation) 



AFTER RECORDING – RETURN TO: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
PERMIT NUMBER: 
 

NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 
 
The undersigned hereby given notice that improvement will be made to certain real property, and in accordance with Chapter 713, 
Florida Statues the following information is provided in the Notice of Commencement. 
 
1.  DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY (Legal description & street address, if available) TAX FOLIO NO.: _______________________________                    
 
SUBDIVISION _______________________________BLOCK_________TRACT_________LOT________BLDG_______UNIT_______ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2.  GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF IMPROVEMENT:   
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3.  OWNER INFORMATION:    a. Name________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 b. Address________________________________________________________________________________  c. Interest in property_________________________ 
 
d. Name and address of fee simple titleholder (if other than Owner) ______________________________________________________________________________ 
4.  CONTRACTOR’S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5.  SURETY’S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER AND BOND AMOUNT: 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
6.  LENDER’S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7.  Persons within the State of Florida designated by Owner upon whom notices or other documents may be served as provided by 
Section 713.13 (1) (a) 7., Florida Statutes: 
 NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:   
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8.  In addition to himself or herself, Owner designates the following to receive a copy of the Lienor’s Notice as provided in Section 
713.13 (1) (b), Florida Statutes: 
NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:   
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
9.  Expiration date of notice of commencement (the expiration date is 1 year from the date of recording unless a different date is 
specified):________________ ______, 20____ 
 
WARNING TO OWNER:  ANY PAYMENTS MADE BY THE OWNER AFTER THE EXPIRATION OF THE NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 
ARE CONSIDERED IMPROPER PAYMENTS UNDER CHAPTER 713, PART I, SECTION 713.13,  FLORIDA STATUTES, AND CAN 
RESULT IN YOUR PAYING TWICE FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO YOUR PROPERTY.  A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MUST BE 
RECORDED AND POSTED ON THE JOB SITE BEFORE THE FIRST INSPECTION.  IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN FINANCING, CONSULT 
WITH YOUR LENDER OR AN ATTORNEY BEFORE COMMENCING WORK OR RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT.
   
 
                                                                     
________________________________________________   ____________________________________________________                           
Signature of Owner or                                      Print Name and Provide Signatory’s Title/Office 
Owner’s Authorized Officer/Director/Partner/Manager   
                   
State of Florida
County of Broward 
 
The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this __________ day of _______________, 20________  
  
By ___________________________________________________, as ________________________________________________ 
                        (name of person)       (type of authority,…e.g. officer, trustee, attorney in fact) 
For __________________________________________________. 
       (name of party on behalf of whom instrument was executed) 
  
_____ Personally known or _____ produced the following type of identification: __________________________________________ 
    
                              Notary                                                              ___________________________________________ 
                                                                             (Signature of Notary Public)  
            
 
Under Penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing and that the facts in it are true to the best of my knowledge and 
belief (Section 92.525, Florida Statutes). 

 
Signature(s) of Owner(s) or Owner(s)’ Authorized Officer/ Director / Partner/Manager who signed above: 

 
By __________________________________________________          By _______________________________________________ 

   
Rev .08-09-07 (S.Recording)       
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